top of page

Patty to be honored by broadcasters!

Pet Pals TV host Patty Spitler is heading for the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers Hall of Fame!

Patty, an Emmy Award-winning news anchor and entertainment reporter for WISH TV from 1982 to 2004, was recently chosen for this top honor by the Indiana Broadcasters Association. She will be inducted into the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers Richard M. Fairbanks Hall of Fame on Nov. 1, along with three other inductees: WRTV 6 reporter Norm Cox, WYXB-FM radio host Bernie Eagan and the late WTLC radio host and general manager Al Hobbs.

“Life is full of joys and sorrows,” says Patty. “We all trudge through this world, and if we're lucky, we find something we can do . . . something we love . . . something that helps others. I am connected to broadcast media. It's my heart, and I am honored and humbled to be recognized for doing what I love! Stay tuned . . .”

Before Patty became host, reporter and producer of Pet Pals TV in 2009, she had a 42-year career in radio and TV broadcasting. In the 1970s she was one of the first female radio disc jockeys in the country during a time when the majority of DJs were men. She started her radio career in her hometown of Dayton, Ohio, and continued in Cincinnati, Pittsburgh and Richmond, Va. In 1982 she came to Indianapolis to co-host “Indianapolis Afternoon” with Dick Wolfsie on WISH-TV, and eventually expanded her talent to become a weather girl and noon news anchor. She retired from WISH in 2004 due to Meniere’s Disease, which affects hearing and balance.

In 2009, she was approached by a producer to join Pet Pals TV, which now airs not only on WISH-TV, but also on 23 stations nationwide. The program focuses on the relationship between animals and humans.

Patty also is host, reporter and executive producer of Great Day TV, which airs weekly on WISH-TV and presents human interest stories and a look at intriguing people from all walks of life.

“We look forward to celebrating the unique careers of these legendary Hoosier broadcasters,” said IBA Executive Director Dave Arland. “The diverse 2018 class is made up of TV and radio personalities who served as voices of and for their communities for decades, helping to inform and entertain the state in their own, unique ways. With the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers, we are proud to honor Norm, Bernie, Al and Patty this year.”


bottom of page